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NOT FOR PUBLICATION 

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 

LOS ANGELES DIVISION 

 

In re: 
 

REFUGIO VASQUEZ, 
 

Debtor. 

 Case No.  2:20-bk-10114-RK 
 
Chapter 7 
 
ORDER: (1) DENYING IN PART AND 
GRANTING IN PART DEBTOR’S REQUEST 
FOR RECONSIDERATION OF ORDER 
DENYING CHAPTER 7 FILING FEE WAIVER 
IN DEBTOR’S ANSWER TO ORDER ON 
INSTALLMENT COURT FEE PAYMENTS; 
AND (2) REQUIRING DEBTOR TO APPEAR 
IN COURT ON AUGUST 4, 2020 AT 1:30 
P.M. AND SHOW CAUSE WHY THE CASE 
SHOULD NOT BE DISMISSED FOR 
FAILURE TO PAY THE FILING FEE IN FULL 
OR CLOSED WITHOUT DISCHARGE FOR 
NONPAYMENT OF THE FILING FEE  
 

  

TO DEBTOR REFUGIO VASQUEZ, CHAPTER 7 TRUSTEE ELISSA MILLER, PETER 

C. ANDERSON, UNITED STATES TRUSTEE, ALL CREDITORS AND INTERESTED 

PARTIES: 

The court has considered the request of Debtor Refugio Vasquez, who is a self-

represented party, for reconsideration of the court’s order denying his application for 
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waiver of the Chapter 7 bankruptcy case filing fee and allowing him to pay the filing fee 

in installments, filed and entered on January 7, 2020 (Docket No. 7), which request was 

stated in his Answer to Order on Installment Court fee payments filed on January 10, 

2020 (Docket No. 11).  In support of his request, Debtor states that he cannot afford to 

pay the filing fee because his income is only $1,755 in social security benefits, “but with 

the amount I pay for rent which is $1,500 is not enough since I only have some money 

left that I must spare between food and medications.”  Debtor further states that “I am a 

85 year old man and it is very hard for me to get to places or find a part time job to 

provide more income.”  Debtor supported his request with copies of his apartment lease 

agreement and of cancelled checks for his rent, utility and medical expenses. 

 The court denies the request for reconsideration in part and denies Debtor’s 

request for a waiver of the Chapter 7 bankruptcy case filing fee because the court does 

not have authority under Section 1930(f)(1) of the Judicial Code, Title 28, United States 

Code to grant a waiver for Debtor because under that law, the court may waive the filing 

fee if the court determines that the debtor has income less than 150 percent of the 

income official poverty line as defined by the Office of Management and Budget, and 

revised annually in accordance with Section 673(2) of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1981 applicable to his family size.  However, the court lacks 

authority to waive Debtor’s filing fee under this law because his monthly income of 

$1,755 as shown on Schedule I of his bankruptcy petition exceeds 150 percent of the 

income official poverty line as defined by the Office of Management and Budget, and 

revised annually in accordance with Section 673(2) of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1981 applicable to his family size. The guideline amount for 
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Debtor’s family size of one in California (one of the 48 contiguous states) for 2020 was 

$1,595 when his bankruptcy petition was filed on January 7, 2020, and his monthly 

income amount of $1,775 is over the maximum guideline amount of $1,595 for his 

family size located in California.  See Poverty Guidelines, 01/08/2020, U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services, https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines (accessed 

online on January 23, 2020) (the 2020 poverty guideline for a family of one in the 48 

contiguous states, including California, is income of $12,760 for the year, and 150% of 

that amount is income of $19,140 for the year, divided by 12 yields the amount of 

income of $1,595 per month as the maximum limit to qualify for a fee waiver).  It 

appears that having to pay the Chapter 7 bankruptcy case filing fee of $335 would be a 

financial hardship for Debtor based on his budget of income and expenses as he has 

stated in his request, but the court is constrained to follow the law as stated in Section 

1930(f)(1) of the Judicial Code, Title 28, United States Code, which is an objective 

income test for waiving the filing fee for financial hardship and does not directly take into 

consideration expenses that the Debtor has.   

 The court grants the request for reconsideration in part and vacates its order 

requiring Debtor to pay the filing fee in installments within 120 days of the filing of the 

bankruptcy petition filed and entered on January 7, 2020 (Docket No. 7).  Debtor is not 

required to pay the filing fees in installments by May 6, 2020 as previously ordered.   

 There is case law authority that provides that Debtor’s Chapter 7 bankruptcy 

case need not be immediately dismissed upon the court’s denial of his application for a 

waiver of the Chapter 7 filing fee under Section 707(a)(2) of the Bankruptcy Code, Title 

11, United States Code, and Debtor’s failure to pay the filing fee in installments within 
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120 days of the filing of the bankruptcy petition under Federal Rule of Bankruptcy 

Procedure 1006(b)(2).  In re Gjerde, 535 B.R. 329 (Bankr. E.D. Cal. 2015).  As 

recognized by the court in the Gjerde case, “[t]he alternative to dismissal is to permit the 

case to proceed with the filing fee to be unpaid.”  535 B.R. at 333.  “This alternative is 

particularly viable where the debtor otherwise is performing the debtor’s duties and does 

not appear to be inappropriately exploiting the automatic stay as a form of delay to the 

prejudice of creditors.”  In re Gjerde, 535 B.R. at 333, citing, 11 U.S.C. § 707(a)(1).   

 However, according to Federal Rule of Bankruptcy Procedure 4004(c)(1)(G), 

Debtor may not be granted a discharge until he pays the Chapter 7 filing fee in full or 

the court grants a waiver, which the court cannot do at this time because Debtor is not 

income qualified under the definition of Section 1930(f)(1) of the Judicial Code, Title 28, 

United States Code.  If Debtor wants a Chapter 7 bankruptcy discharge in this case, he 

will need to pay the filing fee in full or obtain a waiver as required by Federal Rule of 

Bankruptcy Procedure 4004(c)(1)(G).  As the court in the Gjerde case observed, “If the 

court takes a ‘wait and see’ approach, it can revisit the waiver question later in the case.  

In this court’s experience, the filing fee eventually is paid.”  In re Gjerde, 535 B.R. at 

334.  That is, allowing this Chapter 7 bankruptcy case to proceed before considering the 

waiver question again provides some additional but limited time for the Debtor to find 

the money to pay the fee. 

 Despite the denial of Debtor’s fee waiver application, the court will allow Debtor’s 

Chapter 7 bankruptcy case to proceed for a limited time (about six months) without 

dismissing the case for failure to pay the filing fee because it appears that Debtor is 
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otherwise performing the duties of a bankruptcy debtor and is not inappropriately 

exploiting the automatic stay as a form of delay to the prejudice of creditors.   

However, if Debtor does not eventually pay the filing fee, the court will have to 

decide among one of three options: (1) waive the filing fee (but the court can only waive 

the fee if Debtor is qualified); (2) close the case without entry of discharge; or (3) 

dismiss the case for failure to pay the filing fee under Section 707(a)(2) of the 

Bankruptcy Code, Title 11, United States Code.  In re Gjerde, 535 B.R. at 334.       

 The court sets a further hearing in this case on August 4, 2020 at 1:30 p.m. 

before the undersigned United States Bankruptcy Judge in Courtroom 1675, Roybal 

Federal Building, 255 East Temple Street, Los Angeles, California  90012.  The court 

orders Debtor Refugio Vasquez to appear at this hearing on August 4, 2020 at 1:30 

p.m. and show cause why this case should not be dismissed for failure to pay the 

Chapter 7 bankruptcy case filing fee under Section 707(a)(2) of the Bankruptcy Code, 

Title 11, United States Code or this case should not be closed without entry of 

discharge if he does not pay the Chapter 7 bankruptcy case filing fee.  Debtor and any 

party in interest may file with the court a written response to this order to show cause on 

or before July 31, 2020.      

 IT IS SO ORDERED.  ### 

 

Date: January 24, 2020
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